It’s OFFICIAL!

Well I have taken the plunge and registered the Scrace surname and also Scrase with the GUILD, I was impressed with how efficient the process all was, after all it is a charity and all the staff are volunteers (I believe). I am now member number 6151! I registered on Tuesday mid afternoon and just before 5pm I had a welcome email and that was quickly followed by further emails inviting me to forums and another regarding the guild emails. The following morning I had confirmation that my names had been registered 🙂

Other news, the progress on the extraction of data is slow, but that is to be expected. So far I have:

1. Extracted and sorted all the BIRTHS for Scrace’s and Scrases’s transcribed on FreeBMD.

2. Extracted and sorted all the MARRIAGES for Scrace’s and Scrase’s transcribed on FreeBMD.

3. Extracted and sorted all the DEATHS for Scrace’s and Scrase’s transcribed on FreeBMD.

4.Extracted and sorted all the Scrace’s and Scrases’s listed on the 1881 Census on the   FamilySearch Website.

5. Extracted 30% of all Scrace’s (transcribed correctly that is) on the 1911 UK Census from Ancestry, I have been looking at all the images to ensure the data transcribed is correct – I have found quite a few errors and omissions already!

I plan to continue working on the extraction of Scrace’s from the 1911 Census over the next week. I will then re-subscribe to one of the main sites to continue extracting the census details onto my data sheets.

As well as extracting the above data, I have over the last week transferred my personal line onto WikiTree and called it Scrace line 001, although I do still have to add all the sources I have, but I will do this once I have extracted ALL the correctly transcribed UK census data. I have made sure that living individuals and those born after 1900 are all private, with just very basic information for confidentiality reasons. I have also created a front page for the Scrace One Name Study, which can be found HERE.

Another thing I have done is set up a Facebook page, which is private, but if  you have a Scrace/Scrase connection, I will of course add you. I have also set up a Twitter account, boy have I been busy.

Please get in touch, if you are a Scrace or a Scrase via the Scrace.ONS email address provided on the about page or by leaving a comment below, I would LOVE to hear from you.

Until next time………….

© Karen Anderson 2012

About Karen

Wife and mum of two who is a hobbyist photographer, a lover of books, genealogy and spending my free-time with my kids.
This entry was posted in Family History, Genealogy, GOONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

