A well overdue update!

So what have you been doing with yourself I hear you ask.

Well, apart from not blogging, I have been so busy with non genealogical pursuits and major home improvements (which are still ongoing!) In 2013 I was asked to do quite a few photoshoots for people as well as a wedding in the summer, if you know me you will know that my other hobby is photography, so 2013 was a fun year for me, albeit rather hectic!

This does not mean I have put my one name study on the back burner, quite the contrary actually. Since my last post over a year ago, I have completed taking all the correctly transcribed Scrace’s from the Census records and made a good start on the Scrase surname too. I had transcribed these into excel, but felt that there must be a better way to store this data. I did a lot of research and read many reviews on good software to use for a one name study and finally decided on Custodian for storing all the source data. It means that I can easily hold all the names in one place ( a huge bonus). The main reason I settled on this program above the others is that it it easy to use (well I have found it to be so, which is a big plus for me) and I can add sources to all the data, after all I need to start as I mean to go on. My excel spreadsheets although good and they would have done the job, I felt that with the number of names I would soon meet the limits of the program. I have decided to not use the tree facility within the program though, but instead continue to use Legacy Deluxe as I mentioned in a previous post, I know the program well and like the added features it has.

As well as changing the program I use, which I am still transfering data to as I type, I decided to look at setting up a website to accompany my blog , after considering various options I decided to go with Wix to create this free website (for now at least), and just see how it goes. Hopefully I will be able to do all I plan with it, time will tell though!

I plan to add to this blog at least twice a month with posts on individuals, for now I will add the posts to both my website blog and here, if you have an interest in the Scrace or Scrase name make sure you come and check out the website as I will be adding a lot more data on there, including trees for lines I have traced.

If you are reading this and have any information on Scrace or Scrase decendants I would LOVE to hear from you and see what we are able to share.

Until next time…………….

 

About Karen

Wife and mum of two who is a hobbyist photographer, a lover of books, genealogy and spending my free-time with my kids.
This entry was posted in Family History, Genealogy, GOONS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A well overdue update!

  1. Jo says:

    I use Custodian for my Tillin ONS and have found it really useful so far. Good luck with your plans for the study/blog/website
    Jo

Leave a Reply

